- CLSO means Certified Lodging Security Officer, an AHLEI credential built for security staff at hotels and lodging properties.
- The exam has 60 questions, a two-hour limit, and a 70% passing score, with no proctor requirement.
- The official learning-suite-and-exam bundle is listed at $127.50 and includes one retake.
- Eleven published content subjects span lodging operations, legal limits, patrolling, investigations, and emergency response.
What CLSO Stands For
On this site, CLSO stands for Certified Lodging Security Officer. It is an entry-level security credential offered by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI) and delivered through AHLEI/ServSafe Brands. The title tells you the whole story: the person holding it is a security officer, and the environment is lodging, meaning hotels, resorts, motels, and similar guest-facing properties.
If you landed here searching for a quick definition, that is it. If you want the longer treatment of the same question, our related explainers on what CLSO stands for and what CLSO certification is go deeper, and the broader CLSO certification overview pulls the pieces together.
What the Credential Covers
The Certified Lodging Security Officer credential is about the practical and legal realities of protecting a lodging property. A hotel is an unusual security environment. It is open to the public around the clock, it houses guests who expect both privacy and safety, and it mixes retail, hospitality, and residential characteristics under one roof. Security staff there need to understand the property itself, the rules they operate under, the routines that keep a building safe, and the steps to take when something goes wrong.
That is why the credential spans such a wide range of material, from how lodging properties are organized to how to respond to an active shooter or a shelter-in-place situation. The meaning of CLSO is not just a title; it describes a defined body of knowledge tailored to one industry.
Why the Acronym Causes Confusion
Several unrelated credentials share the letters CLSO. A search for the acronym can surface material from entirely different fields, and candidates sometimes pick up facts, fees, or outlines that belong to another certification. That is a real risk when you are preparing for an exam, because a study plan built on the wrong outline wastes time.
To stay on track, anchor everything to the issuer. The lodging-security CLSO comes from AHLEI, its exam is purchased through the AHLEI shop on the ServSafe Brands platform, and its content is lodging-specific. If a source talks about lasers, laboratory safety, or any other field, it is describing a different credential. For a plain-language walkthrough of the term itself, see CLSO meaning, what does CLSO mean, and what is a CLSO.
The Eleven Content Subjects
AHLEI publishes a list of eleven content subjects in the learning-suite description. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and no percentage weights are published for them. Treat them as the best public map of what the program teaches. Our complete guide to the 11 CLSO content areas expands on each one.
Subjects 1 to 3: The Property and Its Rules
These subjects establish the setting and the standards you work within.
- Overview of the hospitality industry along with types and organization of properties: understanding how different lodging properties are structured and where security fits.
- Rights and duties: what a lodging security officer is expected to do and what protections guests and staff are owed.
- Code compliance: keeping the property aligned with the safety and regulatory codes that apply to it.
Subjects 4 and 5: Daily Security Work
These cover the routine activity that makes up most of a shift.
- Patrolling: how to move through a property, what to look for, and how to do it consistently.
- Documentation and other duties: recording what happens and handling the supporting tasks that keep a security function credible.
Subjects 6 to 9: The Legal Layer
This group is where a security officer learns the boundaries of the job.
- Legal powers and limitations: what an officer may and may not do.
- Misdemeanors and felonies: how offenses are categorized and why the distinction matters on the ground.
- Investigations: approaching an incident methodically.
- The legal system: how incidents flow into legal processes after the fact.
Subjects 10 and 11: Emergencies and Threats
These subjects cover the highest-stakes situations a lodging property can face.
- Responding to emergencies such as fire, power failures, weather emergencies, and medical emergencies: the more common crises that test a property's readiness.
- Terrorism, civil unrest, active shooter, unexpected rioting, weapons and shelter-in-place: the serious-threat scenarios that require clear, practiced responses.
How AHLEI Organizes the Learning Suite
The eleven subjects above come from a content list. Separately, the learning suite is organized into four courses. These are two different views of the same material, and neither is a weighted exam blueprint.
| Learning-Suite Course | What It Addresses |
|---|---|
| Overview of the Lodging Industry | The setting: property types and how they are organized |
| Laws and Responsibilities of a Lodging Property | The legal and regulatory framework a property operates in |
| Routine Security Activities and Techniques | The day-to-day work of patrolling, documenting, and preventing problems |
| Responding to Incidents and Emergencies | What to do when a situation develops or escalates |
The learning suite includes about five hours of content and three interactive simulations. Those figures describe the training itself, not the exam. Do not confuse the five-hour course length with the two-hour exam timer, or the three simulations with the 60 exam questions. The five-hour course is recommended rather than required, which we cover in our CLSO training breakdown.
Exam Mechanics at a Glance
The verifiable exam details are straightforward:
| Item | What Is Confirmed |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 60 |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Not required |
| Application or job experience | Not required |
| Retakes | No retake limit stated; one retake included in the initial purchase |
Several things are not publicly established, and it is better to say so than to guess. The exact question format is not disclosed, so do not assume it is multiple-choice. The split between scored and unscored questions is not disclosed. The pass rate is not publicly verified. Whether the exam is open-book, and whether calculators are permitted, is not established either. If these details matter to you, check the issuer's current instructions at purchase time. For the numbers behind passing, see our pages on the CLSO passing score and the CLSO pass rate, and for how demanding candidates find it, how hard the CLSO exam is.
Key Takeaway
With 60 questions and a 70% threshold, the arithmetic is simple: you need roughly 42 correct answers. Because the scored versus unscored split is not published, aim comfortably above that line rather than targeting the minimum.
Registration and Fee Mechanics
Getting started is unusually low-friction. There is no approved application, no required job experience, and no proctor to schedule. The official US English learning-suite-and-exam bundle is listed at $127.50, and no separate member versus nonmember exam price has been verified. The initial purchase includes one retake, and the issuer's current product record states no retake limit. Details on how that compares with other certifications are in our CLSO certification cost breakdown, and eligibility specifics are in CLSO requirements.
Because the exam is not tied to fixed proctored sessions, scheduling works differently from many credentials. For what is and is not publicly known on that front, see CLSO exam dates.
Two unknowns are worth flagging for anyone thinking long-term. CLSO-specific expiration, renewal, and continuing-education requirements are not publicly verified. The most recent explicitly dated product revision we located is September 9, 2022. Treat both as items to confirm with AHLEI before you rely on them.
Who Uses the Credential
The natural audience is anyone who works security at a lodging property or wants to: hotel and resort security officers, night security staff, and people moving into hospitality security from other fields. Because the credential teaches the hospitality context as well as the security skills, it can also help someone from a general security background show that they understand how lodging operations differ.
Employers in this space are hotels, resorts, and lodging operators, along with the security contractors that staff them. We do not publish invented salary numbers, but if you want a qualitative picture of earning and hiring, read our CLSO salary guide and CLSO jobs pages, and weigh the trade-offs in whether the CLSO is worth it. With a bundle price of $127.50 and no experience requirement, the cost of entry is modest compared with many professional credentials.
Planning Your Prep Around the Subjects
You do not need an elaborate method here, but a little structure helps. Since weights are unpublished, spread your time across all eleven subjects and give extra repetition to the two that carry the most consequence if you get them wrong: the legal group and the emergency group.
Setting and Rules
- Property types and organization, rights and duties, code compliance
- Build vocabulary you will reuse in every later subject
Routine Work
- Patrolling and documentation
- Work through the learning suite's simulations while the routines are fresh
Legal Subjects
- Legal powers and limitations, misdemeanors and felonies, investigations, the legal system
- Revisit anything that blurs together, since these subjects overlap
Emergencies, Then Review
- Fire, power, weather, and medical emergencies, then the serious-threat scenarios
- Finish with a full pass through practice questions on our practice test site
Because the learning suite is only about five hours, a four-week plan at a few short sessions per week is generous for most people. For a fuller approach, see our CLSO study guide, and keep the CLSO cheat sheet handy for a final skim. When you are ready to test yourself, take a CLSO practice test and note which subjects slow you down.
Frequently Asked Questions
CLSO means Certified Lodging Security Officer. It is an AHLEI credential for security personnel working in hotels and other lodging properties, delivered through AHLEI/ServSafe Brands.
The exam has 60 questions with a two-hour limit and a 70% passing score. The exact question format and the scored versus unscored split are not publicly disclosed.
No. There is no approved application, no job experience requirement, and no proctor requirement. The five-hour course is recommended but not required.
The official US English learning-suite-and-exam bundle is $127.50. The issuer's product record states no retake limit and includes one retake in the initial purchase.
No. This CLSO is the Certified Lodging Security Officer. It is distinct from the Certified Laser Safety Officer and from the management-level Certified Lodging Security Director, which have their own content and policies.