- How CLSO Scheduling Actually Works
- Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Testing Calendar
- What to Confirm Before You Purchase
- The Exam You Are Scheduling Around
- Retake Timing and the Included Second Attempt
- Planning Your Prep Window Around the Content
- A Sample Prep Calendar Built on the Eleven Subjects
- Timing the Credential to Your Job Search
- What We Cannot Confirm About Dates
- Frequently Asked Questions
- The CLSO is issued by AHLEI through ServSafe Brands, and public sources describe it as a purchase-and-test product, not a fixed-date sitting.
- No proctor, approved application or job experience is required, so scheduling friction is minimal compared with proctored certifications.
- The official bundle lists at $127.50 and includes one exam retake; the product record states no retake limit.
- The exam is 60 questions in two hours with a 70% passing score; the five-hour course is recommended, not required.
How CLSO Scheduling Actually Works
Most people searching for "CLSO exam dates 2026" expect a calendar of testing windows with registration deadlines, the way many professional credentials publish them. The Certified Lodging Security Officer credential from the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI), delivered through AHLEI/ServSafe Brands, does not appear to work that way based on the public issuer record. It is sold as a learning-suite-and-exam bundle, and the practical scheduling question is not "which window do I register for" but "when do I want to buy, study and sit the exam."
That distinction matters for planning. Instead of working backward from a fixed deadline, you work backward from your own goal: a hiring cycle, a property onboarding date, or a personal development target. If you are still deciding whether the credential fits your situation, the overview in What Is CLSO Certification? explains what the credential covers and who it is aimed at.
Why There Is No Fixed 2026 Testing Calendar
The current public issuer record describes the product as an online learning suite plus exam. It does not publish seasonal testing windows, registration cutoffs or a closed enrollment period. The latest explicitly dated product revision we could locate is September 9, 2022, and the issuer page was reviewed for this article in September 2026. Nothing in those sources establishes a 2026 testing schedule.
What the public record does establish is a set of structural features that shape how scheduling works in practice:
- No proctor requirement. The current global product data states the exam does not require a proctor, so you are not booking a seat at a testing center or coordinating a supervised session.
- No approved application. There is no application review that could delay your start date.
- No job-experience prerequisite. You do not need to document hours on the job before you are eligible.
- Bundled purchase. The learning suite and exam are sold together, so your purchase date effectively starts your clock.
Together these facts point to an on-demand model. For the full eligibility picture, see CLSO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify.
What to Confirm Before You Purchase
Because this article is built on public issuer descriptions, the safest approach is to treat the official AHLEI product page as the final authority on dates and access terms. Before you pay, check the following on the issuer listing:
- Current price. The official US English learning-suite-and-exam bundle is listed at $127.50. No separate member versus nonmember exam tariff has been verified, so do not assume a discount structure exists. Our CLSO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown walks through the cost picture in more detail.
- Access period. Public sources reviewed here do not state how long your learning-suite and exam access lasts after purchase. Look for any access window on the product page or in your confirmation email, and note it on your calendar the day you buy.
- Language and region. The $127.50 figure applies to the US English product. If you need another language or region, confirm that version separately.
- Retake terms. Confirm the included retake and the no-limit statement still appear on the current product record.
The Exam You Are Scheduling Around
Knowing the exam's shape helps you decide how much calendar time to reserve. The verified specifications are modest but clear:
| Feature | What the public record states |
|---|---|
| Number of questions | 60 |
| Time limit | Two hours |
| Passing score | 70% |
| Proctor | Not required |
| Prior experience or application | Not required |
| Course | Five-hour course recommended, not required |
| Retakes | One retake included with initial purchase; no retake limit stated |
| Scored versus unscored items | Not publicly disclosed |
| Item format | Not publicly disclosed |
Two cautions. First, do not confuse the five hours of learning-suite content, which includes three interactive simulations, with the exam timer. The five hours describes training duration; the exam itself is 60 questions in two hours. Second, the issuer does not publicly confirm the item format, so do not assume the questions are multiple choice. Open-book and calculator permissions are also not established.
For a closer look at the cut score, read CLSO Passing Score 2026: Exactly What You Need to Pass.
Retake Timing and the Included Second Attempt
One of the more useful scheduling facts is that the current global product record states the initial purchase includes one exam retake, and that no retake limit is stated. That changes how you can think about your first sitting. A first attempt is not a one-shot event with an expiring deadline attached; there is a built-in second chance at no additional listed cost.
The public sources do not describe a mandatory waiting period between attempts, and we will not invent one. If you fail the first attempt, check your account and the product terms for any waiting interval before planning your next session. Your retake plan should be built around identifying weak subjects, not around a calendar date. This is where knowing the eleven content subjects pays off, because a missed attempt tells you to go back to specific topics rather than to restart everything.
Key Takeaway
Because a retake is included and no retake limit is stated, you can schedule your first attempt once you feel reasonably prepared rather than waiting until you feel perfect. Use the first attempt as informed feedback, but still prepare to pass it.
On difficulty and how candidates tend to experience the exam, see How Hard Is the CLSO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026. For what is and is not known about outcomes, CLSO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows explains why no pass rate can be cited.
Planning Your Prep Window Around the Content
Since there is no fixed deadline pushing you, the real scheduling work is deciding how long to give yourself. The issuer organizes the learning suite into four courses: Overview of the Lodging Industry; Laws and Responsibilities of a Lodging Property; Routine Security Activities and Techniques; and Responding to Incidents and Emergencies. Separately, the issuer publishes a list of eleven preparation subjects. These are course-preparation subjects, not an official exam blueprint, and no official percentage weights are published. That means we cannot tell you which subject is weighted highest, and you should not plan as if any one is.
What you can do is sequence the eleven subjects in a logical order and give each a share of your calendar. The subjects naturally cluster into themes:
Foundations: Subjects 1 through 3
These establish context and obligations.
- Overview of the hospitality industry along with types and organization of properties: how different lodging properties are structured and why security responsibilities differ between them.
- Rights and duties: what a security officer may and must do on a property.
- Code compliance: the codes and standards a property must follow.
Daily Operations: Subjects 4 and 5
These cover the routine work of the role.
- Patrolling: routine security activities and techniques.
- Documentation and other duties: record-keeping and the supporting responsibilities that surround patrol work.
Law and Investigation: Subjects 6 through 9
These are the concept-heavy, vocabulary-dense subjects.
- Legal powers and limitations: where an officer's authority starts and stops.
- Misdemeanors and felonies: how offenses are categorized.
- Investigations: handling and looking into incidents.
- The legal system: how the broader system the officer operates within is organized.
Emergencies: Subjects 10 and 11
These map to the course on responding to incidents and emergencies.
- Responding to emergencies such as fire, power failures, weather emergencies, and medical emergencies.
- Terrorism, civil unrest, active shooter, unexpected rioting, weapons and shelter-in-place.
A subject-by-subject breakdown lives in CLSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas. Keep in mind that these public descriptions do not reveal proprietary course details or local operational and legal procedures, so your own property's policies and your jurisdiction's laws will still need to be learned separately.
A Sample Prep Calendar Built on the Eleven Subjects
Here is one way to lay out a three-week window. It is not an official schedule; it is an editorial plan that groups the subjects by theme and puts the legal material in the middle, when you have the foundations to hang it on. Adjust it freely. Someone already working in lodging security may compress it, while a newcomer may stretch it.
Foundations and daily work
- Work through the industry overview, property types and rights and duties
- Study code compliance, patrolling, and documentation
- Complete the first two learning-suite courses if you are using them
Law, offenses and investigations
- Cover legal powers and limitations, misdemeanors and felonies, investigations and the legal system
- Build a short glossary of legal terms in your own words
- Start untimed practice questions on these four subjects
Emergencies, then a full rehearsal
- Cover fire, power, weather and medical emergencies, then terrorism, civil unrest, active shooter, rioting, weapons and shelter-in-place
- Run a timed set of 60 questions in two hours to rehearse pacing
- Review every missed item against its subject, then schedule your attempt
Practice-question allocation across subjects is editorial, because the official weights are unpublished. For a fuller method, see the CLSO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt, and for a compact last-pass review, use the CLSO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts. When you want timed rehearsal under realistic conditions, the CLSO practice tests are built for exactly that.
Timing the Credential to Your Job Search
The most meaningful "deadline" for many candidates is external: a job posting, an onboarding date, or a promotion conversation. Because the credential has no proctor, application or experience prerequisite, you can usually align your exam date to those events with little lead time. Lodging properties of every size employ security and loss-prevention staff, and the credential is oriented toward the officer level rather than management, so it fits entry-level and frontline roles at hotels and similar lodging operations.
A few practical timing ideas:
- Before applying. Holding the credential when you submit applications can strengthen a resume, particularly if you are new to lodging security. Browse CLSO Jobs to see how the credential relates to roles.
- After an offer. If an employer encourages certification, finishing within your onboarding period is a reasonable target. Ask whether they reimburse the bundle cost.
- Ahead of a review cycle. If you are already employed, timing completion before a performance or promotion review gives you a concrete accomplishment to cite.
For earnings context, CLSO Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis discusses compensation, and Is the CLSO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026 weighs the investment. Note that no specific salary figures are asserted here.
What We Cannot Confirm About Dates
Honest planning means knowing the gaps. The following remain unverified in the public sources reviewed:
- Any fixed 2026 testing windows or registration deadlines. None are published in the sources reviewed.
- How long purchased access remains valid. Check the product page and your confirmation.
- Expiration, renewal and continuing-education requirements. CLSO-specific expiry, renewal and CEU rules are not publicly verified. Do not assume a renewal cycle, and do not borrow one from another credential.
- Pass rate. Not publicly verified.
- Open-book or calculator allowances. Not established.
- Scored and unscored item split, and exact item format. Not publicly disclosed.
If any of these matter to your decision, contact AHLEI or ServSafe Brands customer support directly and ask for the answer in writing. For a broader definition of the credential itself, start with What Is CLSO?, and for background on the term see What Does CLSO Stand For?
Frequently Asked Questions
The public issuer sources reviewed do not publish fixed testing windows or registration deadlines. The credential is sold as a learning-suite-and-exam bundle, so scheduling appears to be based on your purchase and readiness. Confirm current terms on the official AHLEI product page.
No. The current global product data states that no proctor is required, and there is no approved application or job experience prerequisite. That removes the usual testing-center booking step.
The exam has 60 questions with a two-hour limit and a 70 percent passing score. The five-hour course is a recommended preparation resource, not part of the exam timer.
The initial purchase includes one exam retake, and the current product record states no retake limit. Public sources do not describe a mandatory waiting period, so check your account terms before planning the second attempt.
CLSO-specific expiration, renewal and continuing-education requirements are not publicly verified. Ask AHLEI directly for the current policy rather than assuming a renewal cycle from another credential.