- The Certified Lodging Security Officer exam has 60 questions, a two-hour limit, and a 70% passing score.
- AHLEI does not publicly disclose the scored/unscored split, so plan around the full 60-question exam.
- The official learning-suite-and-exam bundle is $127.50 and includes one retake in the initial purchase.
- No official domain weights exist, so no single content area can be treated as "the big one."
The Number: 70% on 60 Questions
If you are searching for the Certified Lodging Security Officer passing score, the answer from the current AHLEI product record is straightforward: 70 percent. The exam consists of 60 questions and gives you two hours to complete them. The credential is issued by the American Hotel & Lodging Educational Institute (AHLEI) and delivered through AHLEI/ServSafe Brands.
That is the full extent of what the issuer publicly states about scoring. There is no published scaled-score range, no announced cut-score methodology, and no public explanation of how the 70% figure is applied beyond the headline number. This article walks through what the number means in practice, what is still unknown, and how to build a preparation plan that does not depend on guesses. If you want to see how realistic questions feel before committing to a plan, you can take a CLSO practice test and gauge your baseline.
Doing the Math on 70%
Because the exam has 60 questions and the passing score is 70%, a simple calculation gives you a working target. Seventy percent of 60 is 42, so if every one of the 60 questions counts toward your score, you would need to answer at least 42 correctly. That is a reasonable planning number, but treat it as an estimate rather than a guarantee, and here is why.
| Item | What the Issuer Publishes | What It Means for You |
|---|---|---|
| Total questions | 60 | Plan for a full 60-item sitting |
| Time limit | Two hours | Roughly two minutes per question on average |
| Passing score | 70% | About 42 of 60 if all items are scored |
| Scored vs. unscored items | Not publicly disclosed | Cannot confirm all 60 items count; aim well above 42 |
| Item format | Not publicly specified | Do not assume the format; prepare for the content itself |
The unresolved question is whether all 60 items are scored. Some certification programs include unscored pilot items; AHLEI has not stated publicly whether this exam does. Since the split is undisclosed, the safest assumption is that you should not try to pass by the thinnest margin. Aim to be comfortably above 70% on practice material so a few unexpected questions do not decide the outcome.
What AHLEI Does Not Publish
A trustworthy passing-score article should be as clear about the gaps as about the facts. The following are not publicly verified for this credential:
- Pass rate. No verified pass-rate figure is available. For a discussion of what can and cannot be said, see CLSO Pass Rate 2026: What the Data Shows.
- Scored/unscored split. The number of items that actually count toward your result is not disclosed.
- Item type specification. The issuer does not publicly detail the question format, so you should not assume it is purely multiple choice.
- Open-book or calculator permissions. Neither is established. Do not plan to bring reference materials or a calculator on the assumption they are allowed.
- Expiration, renewal, and continuing education. CLSO-specific expiry and CEU requirements are not publicly verified.
- Official domain weights. No percentage weights are published for the content areas.
When a number is missing, the right response is to write around it, not to fill it in with a rumor. If you encounter a forum post claiming a specific pass rate or a specific number of scored questions, treat it as unverified unless it comes from the issuer.
What the Score Is Measured Against
Here is a point that trips up many candidates: the 70% is measured against the exam, not against the learning suite. The AHLEI learning suite is organized into four courses:
- Overview of the Lodging Industry
- Laws and Responsibilities of a Lodging Property
- Routine Security Activities and Techniques
- Responding to Incidents and Emergencies
These four modules are a course structure, not an official weighted exam blueprint. Separately, the issuer publishes a list of eleven content subjects in its learning-suite description. Those subjects are course-preparation topics, and they are not an official examination blueprint. The issuer does not claim they exhaustively map to the exam, and no weights are attached to them. For a deeper walk through each subject, read CLSO Exam Domains 2026: Complete Guide to All 11 Content Areas.
The eleven published subjects are:
- Overview of the hospitality industry along with types and organization of properties
- Rights and duties
- Code compliance
- Patrolling
- Documentation and other duties
- Legal powers and limitations
- Misdemeanors and felonies
- Investigations
- The legal system
- Responding to emergencies such as fire, power failures, weather emergencies, and medical emergencies
- Terrorism, civil unrest, active shooter, unexpected rioting, weapons and shelter-in-place
Retake Mechanics and Purchase Details
Because the passing score is fixed at 70%, the practical question many candidates ask next is: what if I fall short? The current issuer product record states that there is no retake limit and that one exam retake is included in the initial purchase. That is useful context, but read it carefully. It tells you about retake access; it does not establish open-book permission, calculator permission, or any waiting-period rules, none of which are verified here.
On cost, the official US English learning-suite-and-exam bundle is $127.50. No separate member versus nonmember exam tariff has been verified, so there is no confirmed discount tier to plan around. For a fuller price discussion, see CLSO Certification Cost 2026: Complete Pricing Breakdown.
Eligibility is also light: no proctor, no approved application, and no job experience are required. A five-hour course is recommended but not required. If you want the full picture on who can sit for the exam, read CLSO Requirements 2026: Eligibility, Prerequisites & How to Qualify. For timing and scheduling questions, see CLSO Exam Dates 2026: Testing Windows, Deadlines & Scheduling.
Key Takeaway
Having a retake included does not mean you should treat the first attempt casually. Use the included retake as a safety net, not a plan. Prepare to clear 70% on your first sitting so you keep that second attempt in reserve.
Where to Spend Your Prep Time
Since there are no official weights, you cannot responsibly say "focus on Domain X because it is worth the most." What you can do is think about which subjects tend to demand different kinds of knowledge, so you can allocate effort sensibly. The topics fall into three broad kinds of learning, and each calls for a different approach.
Legal and Rights Content (Domains 2, 6, 7, 9)
These areas cover rights and duties, legal powers and limitations, misdemeanors and felonies, and the legal system. They are definition-heavy and distinction-heavy, which makes them well suited to careful reading and repeated review.
- Know the difference between a misdemeanor and a felony, and why the distinction matters to a security officer.
- Understand what a lodging security officer may and may not do, and where authority stops.
- Remember that local legal procedures vary; the public course description does not establish local operational or legal rules.
Routine Operations Content (Domains 1, 3, 4, 5, 8)
These areas cover the property overview, code compliance, patrolling, documentation, and investigations. They reward practical, scenario-based thinking.
- Be ready to reason about patrol purpose and technique rather than memorize a script.
- Understand why documentation matters and what makes a record useful.
- Connect code compliance to everyday property conditions a patrol officer would notice.
Incident Response Content (Domains 10, 11)
These areas cover fire, power failures, weather emergencies, medical emergencies, and the higher-stakes events: terrorism, civil unrest, active shooter, unexpected rioting, weapons, and shelter-in-place.
- Think in terms of sequence: recognize, respond, communicate, document.
- Distinguish between emergencies where evacuation is appropriate and those where shelter-in-place is the correct response.
- Practice scenario reasoning, since these topics tend to be tested through situations rather than isolated facts.
A short, CLSO-specific way to sequence your time: start with the legal block because the vocabulary underpins later topics, move to routine operations once the legal framework is clear, and finish with incident response so the scenario material is fresh going into the exam. A fuller plan is laid out in CLSO Study Guide 2026: How to Pass on Your First Attempt.
Legal Foundations
- Rights and duties, legal powers and limitations
- Misdemeanors, felonies, and the legal system
Routine Security Practice
- Patrolling, code compliance, documentation
- Investigations and the property overview
Incident Response and Timed Practice
- Fire, power, weather, and medical emergencies
- Terrorism, active shooter, civil unrest, and shelter-in-place
- Full 60-question timed run under two hours
The three-week layout is a suggestion, not an issuer requirement. Because the learning suite is only about five hours of content, many candidates compress or stretch this plan to fit their own schedules. A one-page recap can help in the final days; try the CLSO Cheat Sheet 2026: One-Page Review of Must-Know Facts.
Passing Score vs. Real Job Competence
A 70% pass mark tells you that you demonstrated a baseline of knowledge, not that you are fully prepared for every situation on the job. Lodging security work involves guest interactions, legal boundaries, and emergencies where hesitation has real consequences. The exam is a credential checkpoint, and the day-to-day competence comes from applying the material.
That said, the certification can be a useful signal on a resume for entry-level and front-line roles in hotels and other lodging properties. If you are weighing whether the credential supports your goals, these pieces can help frame the decision: Is the CLSO Certification Worth It? Complete ROI Analysis 2026, CLSO Salary Guide 2026: Complete Earnings Analysis, and the overview of CLSO Jobs. As always, treat any specific earnings number you find elsewhere with caution unless it is clearly sourced.
Passing Score Myths to Ignore
Because details about this exam are sparse, rumors fill the vacuum. Here are the ones worth setting aside:
- "You only need to nail the biggest domain." No official weights exist, so no domain can be declared the biggest. Spread your preparation across all eleven content subjects.
- "The five-hour course equals the exam length." The five hours is training content. The exam is two hours.
- "It is surely all multiple choice." The item format is not publicly specified. Prepare for the material, not for an assumed format.
- "You can bring notes or a calculator." Neither permission is established. Assume you cannot.
- "A published pass rate proves how easy it is." No verified pass rate exists. For perspective on perceived difficulty, see How Hard Is the CLSO Exam? Complete Difficulty Guide 2026.
If you are still orienting yourself to the credential itself, the explainers on What Is CLSO Certification? and CLSO Training cover the basics. Once you are ready to test yourself against realistic questions, head back to the main CLSO practice test site to measure your readiness against the 70% mark.
Frequently Asked Questions
The passing score is 70 percent. The exam has 60 questions and a two-hour time limit, according to the current AHLEI product record.
If all 60 questions are scored, 70 percent works out to 42 correct answers. However, AHLEI does not publicly disclose whether any items are unscored, so aim to score comfortably above that line.
The current issuer product record states there is no retake limit and that one retake is included in the initial purchase. The bundle price listed is $127.50 for the learning suite and exam.
Open-book and calculator permissions are not established in the public information. Do not assume either is allowed, and prepare to answer from memory.
That cannot be determined. AHLEI publishes eleven content subjects and four course modules, but no official weights, so no single area can be identified as the highest-weighted.